Sunday May 12, 2019

Milliblog Weeklies – MAY12.2019

Posted by Karthik

Milliblog Weeklies – India’s only multilingual, weekly new music playlist.
Week 72: On JioSaavn | On YouTube
11 songs, this week. JioSaavn playlist has 10 and is missing only Benny’s Funky Lambo. YouTube has all 11 songs.

Menaminiki – Mr.Local (Hiphop Tamizha) – Tamil: Finally, a song worth listening to, from the so-far underwhelming Mr.Local. The song’s disco and funk base is very reminiscent of Benny’s own musical style, and it is no surprise he leads the vocals, along with Snigdha Chandra. The tune is incredibly catchy!

Pasappukkalli – Devarattam (Nivas K Prasanna) – Tamil: This is a song I heard when it came out first and I didn’t really like it. But, despite not listening to it after that, it stayed in my mind for some reason, particularly the almost-breathless 2nd anupallavi that ends in rock style, joining the pallavi! I think Nivas has something really interesting going on here!

Anthimaalai Neram, Theera Kadhal & Ennai Theadi – Monster (Justin Prabhakaran) – Tamil: Justin’s musical range in Monster is baffling! There are 3 phenomenally good songs, peppered with 2 middling songs and 2 instrumentals! The 3 good songs make up for everything though! Ennai Theadi, featuring Sean Roldan and Shalini, has a truly memorable chorus section that stays after the song is over. The main tune too is gentle pathos laid beautifully. Theera Kadhal is a nice, mid-tempo pop melody sung brilliantly by Sathyaprakash. The highlight of the soundtrack is easily Anthimaalai Neram! With an inventive vocal background chorus, the melody stands out in Sid Sriram’s punchy singing.

Kadhakal Neele (Paadhi Raavaagilum) – Kadhakal Neele (Mejjo Joseph) – Malayalam: This is the kind of song that makes you wonder why Mejjo isn’t more active with newer projects! Mejjo hands Haricharan and Shweta Mohan a wonderfully calming and pleasant tune that both handle beautifully. The rhythm is so unhurried and studied, and that ‘Vaa Vaazhve Vaa’ connecting bridge is absolutely lovely. The use of flute reminds me of Rahman’s style, but that’s only a compliment.

Mothirakkallu – Hesham Abdul Wahab, ft. Sithara Krishnakumar (Malayalam): Sithara completely owns this one, even as Hesham’s use of Pilu raaga (my guess) is the real winner. The raaga’s deeply involving melody makes it a beautiful listen.

Onde Aetige – Amar (Arjun Janya) – Kannada: Almost a template that belongs to Arjun, but thanks to Armaan Malik and Shreya Ghoshal, and the steady, lilting rhythm, the song works.

Funky Lambo – Benny Dayal Ft. Jonita Gandhi, Brodha V, Funktuation, The Hornflakes: Benny’s funk touch transforms the massively popular Punjabi song and how! The change is incredible and completely changes the genre! Jonita is superb, over the original’s Ragini.

I Don’t Care – Justin Bieber, Ed Sheeran: That persistent rhythm sounds like a vocal sound but it probably isn’t. The tune is spiffy and very catchy. That these 2 are singing about social anxiety makes it all the more interesting!

Tough Love – Avicii featuring Agnes, Vargas & Lagola: A surprisingly Indian sounding track from the forthcoming album (posthumous) by Avicii! The track supposedly emanates from one of his India trips!



Sponsored links

Like Milliblog? Help spread the word!