Saturday March 2, 2019

Milliblog Weeklies – MAR03.2019

Posted by Karthik

Milliblog Weeklies – India’s only multilingual, weekly new music playlist.
Week 62: On JioSaavn | On YouTube 
13 songs this week. 12 of them are in the JioSaavn playlist (missing the only Malayalam song this week, Athmavil Peyyum, from An International Local Story). YouTube playlist has 10 songs and is missing Badla’s 2 songs (which I have added as a jukebox, below) and Kanna Re Kanna, from Mere Pyare Prime Minister.

A note on the songs in the playlist:

Rezgaariyan & Kanna Re Kanna – Mere Pyare Prime Minister (Shankar Ehsaan Loy) – Hindi: I was not at all impressed with the title song of the film that was launched first. It seemed unusually labored to me, extending that ‘Prime’ word till the point I lost interest. But the trio comes back very strongly with these 2 songs! Rezgaariyan’s guitar is vintage trio and the music is booming and pulsating! The singers—Shankar Mahadevan, Shivam Mahadevan and Arif Lohar—ace the singing, as expected. Rekha Bhardwaj’s Kanna Re Kanna is the extreme opposite – soft and measured, with lovely lines by Gulzar.

Aukaat & Badla – Badla (Clinton Cerejo & Anupam Roy) – Hindi: After Sujoy Ghosh and Clinton Cerejo’s previous collaborations (Kahaani 2, directed by Sujoy, and Te3n, produced by Sujoy), I really expected this new film to belong to Clinton fully. Unfortunately, of the 4 songs, he has just one, with 2 composed by Amaal Malik and one by Anupam Roy. Anupam Roy’s Badla is very nice though, with Manoj Yadav’s lyrics riffing on the other badla, meaning change, away from badla the revenge. Clinton’s Aukaat is excellent, with an energetic rap portion by Jizzy and BigB himself, and a punchy hook.

Sanu Kehndi – Kesari (Tanishk Bagchi) – Hindi/Punjabi – And finally, a Tanishk Bagchi original, and the man gets it so right! It’s an ebullient Punjabi number that is so full of life. The only minor impediment is the dance steps – Akshay Kumar’s neck twist is so violent that it makes my neck hurt 🙂

Chandamame – 118 (Shekar Chandra) – Telugu: Predictable enough tune, but Shekar’s lively rhythm keeps the song engaging, as much as Yazin Nizar’s spritely singing. The interludes, in particular, are well thought-out.

Dil Ki Doya Hoyna – The Folk Diaryz ft EPR (Bengali): Paban Das Baul’s famous song gets a lovely new version that’s brimming with energetic rock and EPR Iyer’s rap. The sound, interjected with Sushruta Goswami, is thoroughly endearing.

Ninna Gungalli – Adhvik (Kannada): A competently composed electronic song in Kannada! Adhvik keeps the tune simple, servicing the pulsating electronic sound more than anything else. The music is enticing. The music video too is a lovely watch given that it explores fantastic locales from Karnataka, including Sathoddi falls, Apsarakonda beach, Chikkamagalur, Kudremukha, Kalasa, Gaalibetta and Raani Jhari.

Heli Hogu Kaarana – Padde Huli (B. Ajaneesh Loknath) – Kannada: B R Lakshman Rao’s verse, known very well in Kannada Bhavageethe circles given C.Ashwath’s searing version, gets a zingy, Latino-infused new version that is a superb effort by Ajaneesh in bringing classic Kannada music to the younger audiences in a way they can adopt and appreciate this music. Siddharth Mahadevan’s fantastic singing and the tune’s raaga (that reminded me of Seerkaazhi Govindarajan’s famous Neeyallaal Dheivam Illai – Subhapantuvarali Raaga) add to the song’s charm.

Athmavil Peyyum – An International Local Story (Gopi Sundar) – Malayalam – A very Gopi song – his signature is all over the song, particularly in the chorus, in the background guitars. Still, the melody is lovely, propped well by Swetha Mohan and Hari Shankar.

Bas Mein – Bhuvan Bam (Hindi): Bhuvan continues to impress with his music – this is his 5th single. The song’s retro groove is particularly good, though the rap parts seem forced.

One Less Day (Dying Young) – Rob Thomas: Former Matchbox Twenty lead vocalist Rob Thomas’ new album, Chip Tooth Smile is expected in the end of April. The first single is just out and it is everything you expect from Rob’s brand of music. The fantastic chorus and anthemic sound is just what one needs as an intro to the new album.

Angels – What a Time To Be Alive (Tom Walker): Tom’s new album is out and my pick of the album is the single he had released from it late last year. Angels has a phenomenally uplifting and addictive ‘Don’t Give Up’ hook that stays with you long after the song is over.



Sponsored links

March 2019
« Feb   Apr »

Like Milliblog? Help spread the word!

Get reviews by email